Edit This?

I have been agonizing over the editing of Stenson Blues.  It’s a question of quality and cost.  On the one hand, I want to put out a good quality story.  This means I need to ensure it has been adequately edited.  My writing network is not as robust as it was a few years ago, which means I don’t have any writing friends with the skills or inclination to have a go at it for me.  Also, I do feel time pressure on getting this book out.  I’ve had some friends/family read, give me feedback, and proofread the story.  Still, I know I need more input before I’m comfortable sending it out.

The other side of the coin is that editing isn’t cheap.  I’ve been researching and pricing editors for several days now and have come to the conclusion that the likelihood of selling enough books to cover the cost is low.  So I’m thinking to myself, it’s an investment that will pay off in the long term, but I have a hard time justifying the expense if I’m looking at it as a single book project.

I’m wondering how many authors out there have paid to have their book edited and never recouped the money.  It’s not really a money thing, I can afford to get the book edited, but I think you have to weigh out business options when you start publishing books rather than just writing for your own enjoyment.  I guess investing money in any venture has risk.  I’m just trying to get comfortable with the idea.

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Edit This?

  1. Don Keisling

    One thing an editor may do is provide enough constructive feedback that you’ll be able to apply for future books. I post photos on certain sites so I can get constructive (and sometimes not so constructive) feedback from the professionals. I feel books are kind of like photos in a weird way (excluding the time to create) Both are art, everyone has different tastes, what one loves – the next may hate. I am more of a Tom Clancy type reader. I enjoy your work but not other works in the same genre (is that the correct way to classify this). Still waiting on seeing my favorite published, the one that starts in Charleston. Odin ??? Just my thoughts.

  2. Heart of Odin won’t be out for at least another year, according to my plan. I want to put out the third book in the Kingdom of Haven series first. I agree that the edit will help my writing improve for future books and have decided to go forward with the edit. This means your copy will take a bit longer.

Leave a Reply

